Christopher Simnett: Porter Wins Western Canadian Over-55 Title

Written by: Christopher Simnett


***Chris grew up playing tennis in B.C. and was ranked as high as No. 2 provincially in the U12 and U16 divisions. He played in two junior national championships in the 80s. Now 39 years old, he is the “community champion” for the Tennis Canada Building Tennis Communities strategy in Airdrie, AB, where he lives with his wife and eight-year-old son. Chris spent 15 years as a journalist writing about sports for newspapers in B.C. and Alberta. He now works in public relations in Calgary. To learn more about Chris and his blog, please visit***


Calgary’s Keith Porter won the men’s over-55 title at the Western Canadian Senior Championships in Edmonton on Sunday.

Porter, the second-seed, defeated top-seeded Steve Yesowick of Vancouver 7-6, 2-6, 6-4 at the Royal Glenora Club.

Cary Wilson of Montreal won the men’s over-50 crown at the Saville Centre, defeating Denis Dumas of Quebec 3-6, 5-0 ret. in the final.

The tournament was played at both the Royal Glenora and Saville Centre courts from April 13 to 17.

Sarah Widdowson of Alberta won the women’s over-55 title with a 6-3, 6-0 victory over fellow Albertan Ellen Toth in the final.

Second-seed Mary Manley of Edmonton won the women’s over-50 crown after a 7-5, 7-5 win in the championship match over top-seed Cora Wills of B.C.

Lan Yao won the women’s over-30 title, winning both of her matches in the three-player round-robin 6-0, 6-0. Tatiana Zdorenko finished second while Jennifer Matheson was third. Shawna Lalande-Weber of Calgary won the women’s over-35 crown with a 3-0 round-robin record. Jennifer Cherneski was second with a 2-1 record, Chantal Calais finished third and Christine Lindsay was fourth.

Anne Lydon of B.C. won the women’s over-40 division with a 6-3, 6-0 victory over B.C.’s Andrea Mcdonald in the final. Marianne Badenhorst of Red Deer took top honours in the over-45 division, defeating Ontario’s Karen Clarke 6-3, 6-1 in the final.

Jandi Fraser of B.C. won the over-60 division with a 4-6, 6-2, 6-0 victory over Kildy Yuen of Alberta in the final while Susan Gilbertson’s 4-0 round-robin record was enough to win the over 65 crown.

Heather Kontaxopoulos won the over-70 crown with a 2-0 round-robin record while Dee-Ann Clark took top honours in the over-75 division with a 4-0 round-robin tally.

On the men’s side, Edmonton’s Marvin Hinds won the over-30 title with a 3-0 round-robin record. Edmonton’s Nigel Lilley was second, Steven Gonzalez was third and Mark Macconnell was fourth. Top-seeded Olivier Borlee of Quebec won the men’s over-35 crown, defeating undseeded Bryce Southworth of Alberta 6-1, 6-3 in the final. Southworth defeated second-seed Marc Lloyd of Manitoba 6-2, 6-0 in the semifinals.

Joachim Nierfeld of Kelowna won the men’s over-40 title with a 7-5, 6-3 victory over Sylvan Lake Alberta’s Rene Simon in the final. In the over-60 division, top-seed Joe Forrayi of Alberta defeated second-seed Michael Koren of B.C. 6-2, 6-3 to claim the title.

Pat Dowling won the over-65 crown with a 3-0 round-robin record while Kar Liang took top honours in the over-70 class by winning all three of his round-robin matches.

In doubles, Bryce Southworth and Marvin Hinds of Alberta defeated Quebec’s Olivier Borlee and Martin Lemay 6-4, 6-2 to claim the men’s over-30 crown. Shawna Lalande-Weber of Alberta and Karen Clarke of Ontario won the women’s over-30 title, defeating the Quebec pair of Chantal Calais and Stephanie Myles 6-2, 2-6, 6-3.

Andrea Mcdonald and Anne Lydon of B.C. won the women’s over-40 doubles title, defeating Alberta’s Ainslie Lyons and Jane Philp 6-3, 6-0.

The Winnipeg pair of Peter Otto and Geoff Kirbyson upset top-seeds Rene Simon and Chris Simnett of Alberta 6-4, 3-6, 6-3 to claim the men’s over-40 doubles crown while Bruce Acland and Benoit Quezel of Quebec won the men’s over-45 title.

In women’s over-45 doubles, Red Deer’s Marianne Badenhorst and Janice Holloway of B.C. defeated Alberta’s Minnie Dawyd and Susan Vogel 6-0, 6-0 in the final.

Top-seeds Gyata Stormon of Ontario and Cora Wills of B.C. won the women’s over-50 doubles title with a 5-7, 6-2, 6-4 victory over the Alberta pair of Mary Manley and Jane Philp.

The second-seeded B.C. pair of Bob Exell and Douglas Holman won the men’s over-50 doubles title while another B.C. pair, Steve Yesowick and Paul Shellard, won the over-55 crown.

Sarah Widdowson of Alberta and B.C.’s Janice Holloway won the over-55 women’s doubles title, defeating Alberta’s Gillian Shea and Janet Penning 6-1, 6-2 in the final.

Jandi Fraser of B.C. adn Susan Smylie of Ontario claimed the women’s over-60 doubles title with a 6-2, 6-1 victory over Karen Dellow and Kildey Yuen while Bev Spencer and Susan Gilbertson won the women’s over-65 doubles title and Heather Kontaxopoulos and Ruth Neroutsos won the over-70 crown with a 6-1, 6-4 win over Red Deer’s Mary Gardiner and Dee-Ann Clark.

Finally, Neil Elliot and Joe Forrayi of Alberta won the men’s over-60 doubles title while Osama Elshafey of Alberta and Pat Dowling of B.C. took top honours in the over-65 division.

A New Reality By Nicolas Pereira

This past week in the World Team Tennis ‘Bubble” I have seen the efforts to keep everyone safe while carrying on a team competition with around 60/70 players and coaches onsite. Counting organizers, officials, media, and support personnel are around 150 people trying hard to make this happen. I am very impressed by how the strict protocol has been handled and how everyone is invested in making this event a success, but The Open is a completely different scale of details.

ONcourt Interviews NGTL Co-Founder Yves Boulais

It does not matter that you get your rating playing locally or that you had spent an insidious amount of money playing the ITF junior tour tournaments. Your rating is your level of play (you get no bonus for playing more or playing far away). This allows us to break free of the ITF competitive structure potentially saving us time, money, and headache. We see this as a great opportunity to improve the logistic of our sport.

Brandon Burke (son of ACE President Doug Burke) Elected to WTA Board

As revealed in a recent news release issued by the WTA Tour – Brandon Burke has been elected to the WTA Board of Directors (to start officially in September). Oncourt got together with Brandon to delve a bit more into his background and to gain some insight into this wonderful appointment he has attained at such a young age.